Thread: A Few Questions From A Newbie About CHIRP Programming

Question A Few Questions From A Newbie About CHIRP Programming

Hello, this is my first post. I'm a noob to HAM and getting ready to test for my license but I have a few questions.

I just received my BaoFeng BF-F8HP and I am going to use CHIRP to program it. I am watching the video below that seems to be pretty popular for performing this task. It is a few years old but looking at CHIRP it shows apparently that I have 127 channel slots to work with. The first step in this video is FRS and GRMS channels which loaded to 17-68 and that's just the start of the programming. The repeater list is a little confusing. If I select Ga or my county it list 1 channel. If I go to RepeaterBook it list 157 2m and 70cm repeaters within a 60 mile radius of me. I want to be able to travel around this area and I obviously can't load that many channels into CHIRP. I how should I narrow done my channels to be most efficient with the available slots? I've done a few searches for what channels should I program but I'm getting mixed info.

Also if anyone could tell me how to change my avatar and online status privacy setting I would appreciate it. I've looked everywhere.

Thank you for your help!

set your closest repeaters to the areas you travel the most.
    in your computer create separate settings files for chirp that you can upload to your radio in the event you travel outside your normal routine.
    changing your porfile pic
    at the top of the page click on settings from there you should see different links to edit your profile, avatar, and signature.
    Last edited by gnuuser; Mon 4th Jan 2021 at 14:55. Reason: correcting information
    Im so old dirt was my apprentice

Quote Originally Posted by gnuuser View Post
    set your closest repeaters to the areas you travel the most.