Thread: New and looking for LE radio

Default New and looking for LE radio

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the HAM world and am currently studying for my technicians license (maybe general!). All the way through T6C on the study guide!

I bought a cheap FRS radio a while ago, and more recently moved to a Baofeng UV-82HP (can't transmit yet though, obviously), but this is just the beginning. I want to be able to use a radio with an Ops Core AMP headset and a TEA PTT. The problem is I'm not familiar enough with these higher quality radios to know which one to get. I thought, "What better to ask the people on a forum who likely know a bunch about this?!" I was told my TEA that I need to buy one of the following radios:

Motorola APX or XTS series, Harris P or XG series, Kenwood TK & NX series, Icom F series

But I'm looking for this:
    1) A radio that can still do VHF and UHF
    2) Has a keypad and screen on the front
    3) Has an SMA antenna
    4) Water proof (it doesn't have to be IPX7 or anything crazy)
    4) Is less than $400

Even if it's used I don't care. I would also prefer 5) for the radio to be DMR as I hear that's the most popular of the digital radios. But from what I hear I don't think I'll find that in these radios for that price range...

This might not be the place to post this so I'll throw it in another thread. Regardless, I'm glad to be here!

Hi from UK.

Unless you want to take your radio swimming you don't need 100% waterfroof.
    I have a Yaesu VX-8 which is waterfroof. As is the Yaesu VX-7 & the VX-6. You can go scuba diving with those radios.

But you want DMR. I would say steer clear of baofengs.
    To get you started don't go for an expensive radio as your opinion will change after you have passed the exam & got some experience.
    If you keep the box & keep your radio in good condition you can sell it when you move on (and you will). Ham radios tend to hold their value.

So best to start with something like this....