Thread: Antenna tuners: where does the power go?

Default Antenna tuners: where does the power go?

Suppose you have a 100W transmitter. You hook up a homemade antenna to it and try transmitting. The transmitter’s onboard SWR meter shows 10:1 SWR and the power amp is automatically rolled back to a watt or two to protect the output stage.

You say, “No problem; I’ll just grab my handy-dandy antenna tuner here.”

So you insert the tuner, plus an outboard SWR meter, and tune until the radio’s SWR says 1:1.

Now your transmitter is pumping the whole 100W and everything looks happy...but the outboard SWR is still showing 10:1. That means 1/11 of your power is being radiated and the other 10/11 is being reflected, right? The tuner doesn’t actually make the bad antenna better, it just makes it look better to the transmitter.

Or so I’ve read; I have no experience of my own.

So here’s my question: where does the reflected 91 watts go? Does it heat up the antenna tuner? Does it escape somehow to ground? Is there some sort of reactance-tank magic going on in the tuner that I don’t understand?

Thanks,
    Dan

You're on the right track. The tuner presents 50-52 ohms to the final output stage of the radio to make it happy and prevent reflected power from heating the finals to the point of destruction. Since energy in = energy out, the wattage that cannot be absorbed by the antenna and feed line system is lost as heat.

It is a little more complicated than just being lost as heat. But you are correct, in that, the tuner doesn't fix a mismatch. It only allows the transmitter to see a good match.

The high SWR causes much of the power reflected back to the antenna tuner. But at the tuner, there is also a mismatch and some of that reflected power is reflected back to the antenna. This happens over and over, until there isn't anything left. And, of course, some of the power is simply lost as heat in the coax.