Thread: New to Ham radio

Default New to Ham radio

Hello out there.

I am just starting out on Ham radio, and taking My Foundation Exam on the 10/6/20. Moving forward I would like to go onto intermediate, then to Full licence. I have found that in general the foundation course is not that hard. I did slip upon Ohms law, but ok now.

The history of radio started with Me in the 70s with CB, moving onto radio scanning. Listening to aviation and other radio communications. Aviation is My other hobby, along with photography. When put together the hobbies work well together, when at a airport/airfield. I listen for the aircraft on the radio, which in turn prepares Me for the photograph as it lands/takes off. lastly it is the identification of the aircraft (registration).

Due to having time on My hands, I thought I would further the radio hobby, and go for My amateur licence. On the back burner, I may take up a interest in electronics. You are never too old to learn, at 61.

David P

Hi from Nottingham David.

I also had the radio bug from an early age & had a CB. But decided to sit the RAE 30yrs ago. Glad that l did as the exam structure has now changed meaning all 3 stages must be passed to get a full licence. I sat 2 exams (2hrs 45 min) & that was it. No practical exams needed back then if you went straight for the RAE. I have been off air for a while due to work commitments, but renewed my licence every 5yrs. Now retired at 62 & have radios & much other gear in boxes atm. Now l need to decide if l should set things up in the house, or in my workshop beside the lathes.

You should manage the Foundation exam without difficulty. Unsure how far away l am from you, but if you need any advice just pm me.

There is a thread on qrz.com "UK remotely invigorated online Foundation exams are now operational". You should pop over & have a read. I will give you the link that l put on that forum below.

So best of luck with that exam & hope to hear you on the air soon.