Thread: HAM versus BAOFENG UV-5R 136-174/400-480 MHz Dual-Band DTMF CTCSS DCS FM Ham Two Way

Default HAM versus BAOFENG UV-5R 136-174/400-480 MHz Dual-Band DTMF CTCSS DCS FM Ham Two Way

Hi to everyone

I am new here and new to HAM (also not sure what "Yaesu" means).

I was searching for a way to communicate if there is a global disaster and we cant use cellular phones, and we might end up in a forest for shelter during the global disaster, then I stumbled across HAM (I am referring to a disaster whereby satellite communication is also off line).

Now I am totally new to this concept of HAM, but of course very interested to learn and buy this. Then I stumbled across the BAOFENG UV-5R 136-174/400-480 MHz Dual-Band DTMF CTCSS DCS FM Ham Two Way Radio and I wondered the following:

1. Can this Baofeng be used to communicate if I have one of this and a family member have another, but we are separated by a distance? Meaning can it be used as both a walky talky over a short distance of 3 miles in a forest, as well as over a long distance if for example we are in two separate forests?

2. Is this device the same as HAM?

3. If this device is not the same as HAM, then is it possible to buy a HAM that is similar in size or is the cost too exhorbitant?

4. Can HAM also be used as a walky talky or is it only for vast distances.

5. Finally, may I ask what is this Baofeng device actually used for? What are the practical applications for a layperson like myself (but who is willing to learn, and purchase equipment ASAP before a global disaster hits us).

I want to be able to communicate both over short distances like a few miles (as in a walky talky), but also over much further distances when there are no phones and no satellite? In other words we are totally off grid.