Thread: howdy - new member introduction

Default howdy - new member introduction

Hi All,

I am interested in learning about HAM radio. I started out looking for a high quality emergency radio solution and came across a lot of HAM radios. I always had an interest but never pursued it until now. So I am a true beginner. I am looking for guidance on how best to get started, where to go for reading material, and interested in a good quality mobile solution (e.g. hand held) to get me started.

Thanks

Well first, you need to let us know, approximately, on what part of the planet you reside. Amateur Radio rules and regulations change depending on what country you live in.

Second, "ham" is not a acronym and is not capitalized. It's just "ham".

There are lots of "ham" radios available. But note that, to use them it usually is required to have a ham license. In the US, getting a license is relatively simple. To get a Technician Class license, which would allow the use of VHF/UHF hand held radios, you only need to pass one test. If you go to QRZ.com there are Practice Exams available. These practice exams are made from the actual question pool that is used for testing. You can take the sample test, as many times as you need to. When your scoring over 90 percent, regularly, it's time to go for the real test.

The current situation, with everyone being isolated, most testing stations are closed. However, they are starting up a new on-line site. I believe that there is some information for the on-line tests on QRZ.com. I saw a posting on QRZ the other day about the first on-line license being issued. But I didn't pay attention to the URL.