Thread: Hello everyone.

Default Hello everyone.

Hello!

Hey everyone, I'm new to the hobby and currently studying for my technician and general exam. I do have a few questions that I hope you all can help me with. I live out in the boonies surrounded by rolling hills and very tall pine trees. I did a search for repeaters in my area and the closest one is 10 miles away from where I live. I know you guys always recommend going to my local area Ham Radio Club but its over and 1 1/2 hour drive from where I live. From what I have read it would seem that the only way for me to be able to transmit and receive would be with a HF base station? So my questions are:

1. Is that the only way?
    2. And if so how do I go about doing that, equipment needed etc...

PS. I programmed a Baofeng FH-FH8P using chirp and bought a named brand Nagoya antenna and I get nothing at all. I hope you all can help me as I'm loving this hobby more and more everyday.

Quote Originally Posted by AmazonJoe View Post
    Hello!

Hey everyone, I'm new to the hobby and currently studying for my technician and general exam. I do have a few questions that I hope you all can help me with. I live out in the boonies surrounded by rolling hills and very tall pine trees. I did a search for repeaters in my area and the closest one is 10 miles away from where I live. I know you guys always recommend going to my local area Ham Radio Club but its over and 1 1/2 hour drive from where I live. From what I have read it would seem that the only way for me to be able to transmit and receive would be with a HF base station? So my questions are:

1. Is that the only way?
    2. And if so how do I go about doing that, equipment needed etc...

PS. I programmed a Baofeng FH-FH8P using chirp and bought a named brand Nagoya antenna and I get nothing at all. I hope you all can help me as I'm loving this hobby more and more everyday.