Thread: HI from somerset UK

Default HI from somerset UK

Hi my name is will and I am totally new to amateur radio. I have always wanted to get in to it and when i saw an Icom IC 718 with dsp module for sale locally at a very good price after research I bought it today...so I have contacted the local club..ordered the exam books and am starting the learning curve...I icom is sat in the box as motivation

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Tangmere, Chichester, West Sussex, United Kingdom

Welcome to the Forum and the world of amateur radio.
    Pete - 2EFVL
    The QRM Formally Known As M6PAP!!
    www.selseylifeboats.co.uk
    www.amberleymuseum.co.uk

Welcome to the hobby!

Having something that you can't use can be great motivation. When I got my Class B Licence in 1984, I was doing my HF listening on a Yaesu FRG7700 receiver. I traded it in against a Yaesu FT101ZD transceiver, and gave the mike and rear jumper plug (that stopped it transmitting) to a local friend who had a Class A Licence for safe keeping. So I could listen but not transmit and looking at the radio every time I walked past it (the shack was in between the lounge and the kitchen) and knowing that I couldn't use it fully frustrated the heck out of me! I really enjoyed VHF for a few months, and actually operating on air, building antennas and shack equipment (rather than just taking the exam) taught me a heck of a lot, but I very soon got started on the CW to get the full Class A Licence.

So I'd unbox it and make it stare at you!
    Current radios: VHF/UHF: 2 x Baofeng 2/70 Handhelds. VHF: Kenwood TR9130 2m multimode. HF: Kenwood TS930S-AT
    Home antennas planned: G5RV / G7FEK / end fed wire. 1/2 wave vertical for 10m. 6 element beam for 2m. Vertical collinear for 2/70
    Website for the 'day job': www.andrew-gilbert.com

Quote Originally Posted by AndyG0CCX View Post
    Welcome to the hobby!