Thread: So New No Call Sign (Yet)

Default So New No Call Sign (Yet)

Hello all ...

I am taking the Technician (and hopefully General) exams on Saturday, 01/19/19. So, as you can see, I am still a very new newbie, not only to this forum but to Ham Radio as an avocation. Here's just a bit about me to get me started on this forum.

I'm in my sevent decade on this planet and recently retired. Over my career I spent 10+ years in law enforcement, 9 years as a private attorney, and then got into academia for an 18 year tenure run as a Professor. I hold the Juris Doctor (J.D.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degrees. I am the author of a dozen books and more than thirty journal articles in academic (peer-reviewed) and professional journals.

My interest in Ham goes back to the days when I was a kid and my Dad was into CB and eventualy Ham. This would have been in the early '70s. I used to spend many nights with him in his shack while he worked on repairing radios for friends and for a small fee. For some reason, though, I didn't get into the electronics aspect of the hobby, and I never felt like he wanted me on his radio, so I remained active only in the sense that I was providing him company while he worked.

Almost a decade back my best friend got into Ham, and part of his interest came through what he learned from my dad. In time, my friend (Rick K5RHA), started to crack the hard shell I was in when it comes to Ham. My dad, by this time, was gone and I really just never got into it when I was young. Now that I'm retired, and with great support from my friend, I have slowly opened myself to learning much more about the hobby (avocation).