Thread: Brand new to radio - a few questions - please be gentle :)

Default Brand new to radio - a few questions - please be gentle :)

Hi all, I am just getting into amateur radio, in fact one of my resolutions for 2019 is to get my technician and general licenses. So apologies for all the newbie questions.

That said, I have a few questions that I'm hoping someone can help me with. if this is the wrong place my apologies, please feel free to tell me where to go

I want to get a radio so I can get started with HAM, listening now, and transmitting WHEN I pass the tests, plus I want to be able to use handhelds.

We camp, hunt and ATV in Kentucky and I want to be able to use handhelds with the wife and son while we are out playing, so I bought 3 of the $30 Baofeng UV-5R handhelds, and I've read all the nastiness about them, so I don't plan to use them until I'm legal on the HAM bands, but have some questions about those and a mobile unit.

I've used FRS blister-pack radios in the past, and I have used MURS radios (don't remember the model, I know they were 95? compliant) and I would like to be able to get a mobile unit for my truck and our campsite that can do GMRS (I paid and got a license already), MURS (not sure if I'll need it since I have GMRS) as well as the licensed HAM bands with the technician and general licenses. That said, I know my wife and son won't take the tests, so they're probably going to have to use my GMRS license on handhelds.

Ok, sorry, so here's the questions

1) I was recommended the Yaesu FT-8900R, but I cannot seem to figure out if I can do GMRS, MURS as well as the HAM bands on that unit. Is this a good mobile unit for getting stared under $400? I know I have to get an antenna etc.. as well

2) Is there any other option for the handhelds other than GMRS for my wife and son, can I use the Baofengs for GMRS legally?