Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hams and 11m

Default Hams and 11m

I am curious to see where other hams are on the topic of 11m use. Here's where I stand and ask the hams to give me their opinions on the matter.

I am a general class ham operator, but I also enjoy 11m. I never use my ham equipment on 11m (truth) and I ensure that the radios I do use on 11m are 12w or less on SSB and well within the emission standards hams go by (sometimes that takes some doing lol). I do not approve of, nor respond to, those guys running over-modulated broken radios into splatter-box amplifiers. I do not acknowledge their existence whatsoever as doing so would promote their horrible operating practices. There is nothing in part 97 about hams and 11m, yet, every time I mention on the 2m repeater about 11m, everyone gets all moody.

Radio is a hobby with communication being the goal. Most of us hams started out on 11m. I like 11m because it keeps me in contact with ANYBODY, not just hams. There is a local 11m guy with a "learning disability" whose entire life revolves around his CB radio, he will never become a ham. I like talking to him as there are no other local 11m operators close enough to talk daily. Besides, hes fun to talk to... It troubles me to hear the sudden tone change in the voices of hams on mentioning 11m, especially when I get weekly emails from the ARRL begging for money to help stop the FCC from auctioning off our ham bands to the highest bidder. The FCC can't follow their own rules, yet, I seem to upset people more for something that isn't even a written rule.

Am I doing something wrong or are the local hams wrong for giving me that impression?

Default forget it

Quote Originally Posted by brandon lind View Post
    I am curious to see where other hams are on the topic of 11m use. Here's where I stand and ask the hams to give me their opinions on the matter.