Thread: New need help with repeaters

Default New need help with repeaters

Hi all, I'm currently studying for my technicians license. From what I read im allowed to listen. I figured out how to connect to my local repeater. The repeater message came on..... but I never hear anyone talking. I walked my brother thru the settings and when he connects her hears a good number of people talking.

Im in nyc, thinking big city someone has to be talking.... why is it so quiet ?

Maybe it was just the repeater identifying itself (every 15mins), which is a license requirement...

Sadly, repeaters spend long periods inactive nowdays. If you can bring it up, and it responds, it's working - although of course without a licence ........................

Sound like maybe a PL tone issue... does the repeater use a PL tone? I would check into that as well. Unless you have your CTCSS engaged incorrectly. It's been too long since I've dinked with tone squelch and all that so maybe someone else can explain it properly? I say that because of the comment about brother hearing lots of people and the OP not.

What is the callsign of the repeater? Most repeater owners post the details on the net, so someone can work out what needs to be done to access it. Also, some repeaters can be accessed through EchoLink.

There is something odd here - you said.
    when he connects her hears a good number of people talking