Thread: Another NOOB here

Default Another NOOB here

I'm an old guy, but new to HAM. Way back in the day before sunspots killed it I was a CB guy, but that doesn't really count. I have always had a passing interest in radio, but suddenly wife has discovered a need. She now commutes daily to Palm Springs and realized that in the event of a big enough emergency to clog cell towers she would be totally on her own. My suggestion over the years that we get radio equipped suddenly stopped falling on def ears.

We are currently studying for our Tech license with plans to take it next month. I am primarily interested in car to car, car to base operation on 2 meter with and or without repeaters. After some research (lots of confusing and conflicting information out there) I have acquired 3 new FT-7900r, 2 FT-60, a 32 amp power supply for the base and a partridge in a pear tree.

I am planning on joining the local HAM group and becoming involved in the club activities and learning how I can assist in emergencies, but have not contacted them yet.

What I see as different about me VS traditional HAM operators is that my interest is primarily in local communication not talking to people all over the world. The internet has given the rest of us that ability which was previously primarily only available to you HAM operators. Perhaps with time that interest will grow in me.

Since I have an accounting background not a technical one wrapping my head around the technology has been difficult but I am getting there. I still have a long way to go and am hoping to find a few patient members of the local club who don't mind a lot of dumb questions.

Hoping to become a valuable member of this community.