Thread: Noise when putting antenna higher

Default Noise when putting antenna higher

Hi Guys,

a few weeks back I posted an item about my reception ... what it boils down to: My antenna is below my rooftop, when putting it higher up above the roof top (to get 360 horizon) my reception goes down.

Below a picture of the waterfall (top is where the antenna is above the rooftop, bottom is when it is below rooftop)

compare.png

My guess: as soon as it gets above the rooftop, it is exposed to electronic noise from solar panels on the roof.

Any of you experience with this? And is the waterfall consistent with that assumption? (I am really new to this .. so my questions might be a bit naive

anyway- thanks for your help again!

Bruno

(BTW in case it matters: antenna is a home made v-dipole .. tuned (or at least hoping it is tuned) for NOAA satellite reception)

do you have a handheld that can tune to the same frequency? you could use it to "sniff" around for the interference.

~Travis
    PASSED Tech exam on 09-09-2017 (awaiting callsign)
    Equipment:
    Kenwood TS-430s, Bucket-base 20 foot vertical antenna
    Kenwood TH-K20a, stock antenna

No, I am afraid not... all I have is a SDR dongle