Thread: Hello from prospective ham.

Default Hello from prospective ham.

Greetings.
    I propose to apply for my ham licence soon.

I know it's not necessary, but just for the extra gratification, I plan to get on the air with something of my own construction. Nothing fancy - probably a low power two meter FM transmitter and superhet receiver using discrete semiconductors. I am an electronics engineer so I feel confident that I'll get it working before too long. I have successfully built a few audio power amplifiers, and I have the burns to prove it.

I look forward to sharing my experiences.
    Last edited by leadfree; Mon 12th Jun 2017 at 21:28. Reason: I found answers to my question on forum.

Excellent! Nothing beats the smell of a soldering iron burning flesh, for that fraction of a second before you notice and yell!

It's rare nowadays to home brew, but the pleasure and satisfaction at talking to somebody on a device you built yourself is amazing. I work across the Irish Sea regularly, and the people there do have different ways of doing things, and seem to ignore 'fads' - which happens here too often. All the best!

not according to http://hamradio360.com as more and more home brew HAMs are active
    73 de Biton - m0wao - echolink 633710
    Elecraft K2
    dx-code

Quote Originally Posted by leadfree View Post
    Greetings.
    I propose to apply for my ham licence soon.

I know it's not necessary, but just for the extra gratification, I plan to get on the air with something of my own construction. Nothing fancy - probably a low power two meter FM transmitter and superhet receiver using discrete semiconductors. I am an electronics engineer so I feel confident that I'll get it working before too long. I have successfully built a few audio power amplifiers, and I have the burns to prove it.

I look forward to sharing my experiences.
    Great idea and nice to see users making the effort to do things for themselves.