Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Queston on the TS-480-HX

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Drayton, SC
    Posts
    5

    Default Queston on the TS-480-HX

    Can anyone tell me why my S meter stay's peged on all frequency's except on FM . Thanks for your time

  2. #2
    K7KBN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bremerton WA USA
    Posts
    1,244

    Default

    Try turning the RF gain control all the way up. You may need to back off the AF gain ...
    73
    Pat K7KBN
    Semper ubi sub ubi.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Drayton, SC
    Posts
    5

    Default TS-480

    Quote Originally Posted by K7KBN View Post
    Try turning the RF gain control all the way up. You may need to back off the AF gain ...
    You were on the head Pat it was the Rf had to turn it up to 97 but that did it. K4EMP

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Drayton, SC
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I'm Also having a power problem I can not get the radio over 100w The swr is at 1 And ive done a full reset also. Anyone have any ideas? Fred K4EMP

  5. #5

    Default

    I assume you mean on key down CW, or when speaking on SSB - with the speech processor adjusted up quite a bit?

  6. #6

    Default

    Do you have the AT-300 Antenna Tuner?
    From the Manual:

    When the AT-300 is used with the TS-480HX transceiver,
    TX power is automatically reduced to 100 W (AM mode:
    25 W). Also, the AT-300 cannot be used for 50 MHz operation

    de Jerry KB0DOG

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Drayton, SC
    Posts
    5

    Default TS-480HX

    Quote Originally Posted by KB0DOG View Post
    Do you have the AT-300 Antenna Tuner?
    From the Manual:

    When the AT-300 is used with the TS-480HX transceiver,
    TX power is automatically reduced to 100 W (AM mode:
    25 W). Also, the AT-300 cannot be used for 50 MHz operation

    de Jerry KB0DOG
    No I Have a 939 I spoke with kenwood about this and they told me the same. So I'may get a manual tuner. Thanks for the reply's. 73s K4EMP
    Last edited by fredb29617; Mon 8th May 2017 at 13:14.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    McAlester, Ok
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Can't get more than a hundred watts out? You do have an adequate power supply, twice what you need for an 'SAT?
    Almost any tuner (manual/automatic) will work fine, if you are doing that tuning correctly (carrier mode, low power, etc.).
    Paul

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •