Thread: Setting Up A Baofeng For Backcountry Skiing/Snowmobiling

Default Setting Up A Baofeng For Backcountry Skiing/Snowmobiling

Hi guys!

Total noob, even though I have had my Tech lic now for 2 years I just got around to setting up my Baofeng UV-5R the other day.

I was doing some research on how I should set up my radio for use while out in the backcountry here in Idaho and ran into some questions. My thoughts where to set up the radio for emergency use and personal communication with some non ham licensed friends. To do this I would buy a GMRS lic and add GMRS only (no FRS) channels to the radio along with local ham frequencies and NOAA channels. With that said here are my questions:

1) Is is legal with a GMRS lic for use of personal friends to communicate on that license (non-immediate family members)? Or would they each have to get a GMRS lic as well?

2) Is is legal to use the Baofeng on GMRS is you have GMRS lic? I found this post on another thread here:

Quote Originally Posted by kalikid021 View Post
    This is an older thread, however here's my 2 cents.

What the OP really should be considering is the GMRS frequencies not FRS or MURS. Buy a license for GMRS, this will cover you and your whole immediate family to use these frequencies. GMRS frequencies can be referenced here http://wiki.radioreference.com/index..._channel_chart