PDA

View Full Version : Question about repeater reception

KF4VIX
Sun 27th Jul 2014, 03:31
Hey guys. This is my first post. I got my license back in 1998 and piddled around on 2m for a little while, but then life took over and I wasn't really active at all for almost a decade. I'm a police officer, and decided I wanted to get an inexpensive HT to carry with me in the patrol car just to listen to the local guys and see what was going on.

I picked up a 2m/70cm HT and it works very well. But, there is something strange going on that I can't put my finger on. I live 19 miles away from the city that I work in, and that city has several different 2m/70cm repeaters. The most active repeater is a certain 2m repeater, and I can reach it from my house using only the "rubber duck" antenna and 5W. Signal reports are mainly positive from that distance, and to say I'm impressed is an understatement.

Now, here's the dilemma: When I get to work, and turn my HT on in the patrol car, all I get from that repeater's frequency is static when I key the PTT. I thought there was some type of interference from some radio equipment in my patrol car, but testing it out when I wasn't working gave the same results both inside a vehicle, outside a vehicle, and from various locations around the city. I can't "key up" the repeater, and when anyone else is broadcasting, I can't receive it either - it just sounds like loud electronic garble.

So, what gives? How can I TX/RX a repeater 19 miles away on a HT with good results, but I can't use it at all when I'm in the same city, within ~1-3 miles of the repeater itself?

Any ideas or suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks!
-Lee

5B4AJB
Sun 27th Jul 2014, 13:44
Try an external antenna with a small linear amplifier (10-20W) Even if the external antenna is the rubber duck, it should work.

City buildings & reflections make it hard for signals to propagate, especially if you're on lower ground (in a hole).

K7KBN
Sun 27th Jul 2014, 15:20