PDA

View Full Version : Yaesu vs Kenwood HT/aftermarket antennas

Medic07
Thu 24th Jul 2014, 06:19
I have been trying to decide between a Yaesu VX-6R and Kenwood TH-F6A. I think I am leaning toward the VX-6R due to the fact that it is waterproof while the kenwood is not. I do like the fact that kenwood claims 5W on ALL of the 3 bands (70cm, 1.25M, 2M) vs the VX-6R which offers the same 3 bands but 5W on 70cm and 2M with only 1.5W on 1.25M band. They both offer wide receiving ranges, which I want to be able to monitor, and learn, from listening to the 10M and up HAMs (I am a newb and will begin with technician level privilages until I learn more, which is why I would like to at least be able to monitor the lower freq.). The waterproof aspect of the VX-6R is important because I want to be able to take the HT on camping and kayaking trips without damaging it.

Anyway, I would appreciate input regarding these radios and aftermarket antennas for the VX-6R. It is a tri-band transceiver (70cm, 1.25M and 2M Tx with large Rx ranges) but I am not sure how much I would use the 1.25M band just yet. Would it be better to get a dual band antenna like the Diamond SRH77CA or the triband Diamond SRH320A (even though I may not use the 1.25M band very much)? What about the Smiley 270A? Any input/experience/reviews of any of the mentioned antennas or radios would be appreciated.

73!

KC5YIV
Thu 24th Jul 2014, 23:19
Depends a lot on if there's activity on 220 in your area. If you want to listen to HF, I would make yourself a long wire antenna, as any portable whip or duckie is going to be woefully deaf on lower frequencies.