PDA

View Full Version : New to ham radio, help?!

john_tranter103
Sun 14th Apr 2013, 00:55
About 10 years ago I earned my foundation license allowing me to operate on amateur radio. After a couple of years since I was only a kid at the time, I slowly forgot about it, until recently when I found my old Hora C-150 portable radio (unfortunately not operational after years of being unused). to cut a long story short, I went out after a bit of research and bought a Yaesu FT-60 transceiver, the only problem is that I know very little of how to operate this hand held.

At the moment, I am a student in Liverpool. My father still living in my home town of Stoke-on-Trent (who holds an intermediate license) wants to contact me in Liverpool from home, the only problem is, I don't know a way to make that possible? I know about receivers and how they work (to an extent), but is there any way I can possibly contact Stoke from Liverpool?

I looked up where the nearest repeater is to me (using http://www.ukrepeater.net/2m.htm), I sent out a call on a few nearby repeaters, but had no luck I think in actually getting through into them. I found the CTCSS codes for them and the correct frequencies, but unlike when I am in Stoke-on-Trent, the repeaters I tried did not give me any indication I had activated them. Any one know why or how I can solve this problem?

Also, being a novice I'm still learning all the jargon with amateur radio, can anyone tell me what Rx / Tx means?

Many thanks to anyone who can help a 20 year old novice start out on ham radio again!

5B4AJB
Sun 14th Apr 2013, 22:04
RX - receive(r)
TX - Transmit(ter)

Try signing up to Echolink (http://www.echolink.org/), it uses the internet as a backbone between linked repeaters. You can use RF to network to RF, or just network to network communications.